If you deleted it? There's "trash can" option in the same menu you can access the settings from. While I haven't let them sit this long it does mention a 30 day time limit before they're automatically permanently deleted.
I believe texts are stored on the phone as a part of App Data, even if you had 'deleted' them. But if you do anything that clears the App Data, which includes removing any app updates, then the texts are permanently gone, since removing updates also usually removes all app data to provide a fresh slate. BUT: I could be wrong...
Rcs Chats & Encryption Keys: If you uninstall the app completely or clear app data rather than just rolling back updates, Google Messages can lose its encryption keys and connection to RCS (Rich Communication Services), which can sometimes cause recent internet-based chats to fail to sync back properly or convert into basic text
WithAHammer
Nebula
10-13-2026 01:35 AM
in
0 likes
Ksims22887
Halo
10-13-2026 01:37 AM
in
0 likes
WithAHammer
Nebula
10-13-2026 01:40 AM
in
meself
Honored Contributor
10-13-2026 02:45 AM
in
0 likes
Ksims22887
Halo
10-13-2026 02:50 AM
in
0 likes
Nineteeentrash
Constellation
10-13-2026 02:51 AM
in
0 likes
Ksims22887
Halo
10-13-2026 02:51 AM
in
0 likes
userViZ11Agvt9
Constellation
10-13-2026 06:14 AM
in
0 likes
sat1124
Constellation
10-13-2026 03:33 PM
in
0 likes
Ksims22887
Halo
10-13-2026 03:34 PM
in
0 likes