Quick Share visibility

(Topic created on:  

10/04/2026 08:54 AM

)

296 Views

 

last edited

 

10/04/2026 08:54 AM

Is there any particular reason that "share with Everyone" was now required to be limited to 10 minutes only, where before it could be unlimited?


image


    •  

      Solution

      W

      WhatIsLife

      Helping Hand

      last edited

       

      10/04/2026 10:37 AM

      Would imagine it's a security thing to make sure you dont leave it shared with everyone indefinitely. Feels like that make sense
    •  

      Solution

      A

      arianwen27

      Samsung Members Star ★

      last edited

       

      10/04/2026 11:02 AM

      Similar to what "WhatIsLife" said. It's a security and privacy thing.

      Having it set to everyone means your phone is kinda always broadcasting exactly who you are everywhere you go. Someone could just track the signal to find out where you are.

      Having it on contacts only or my devices means random people won't be able to detect that your phone is near them.

      Wifi and Bluetooth have systems to hide who you are. Quick share has to use the same name each time, so it's an easy way to identify someone is near you

      0 likes

      11/04/2026 12:48 PM

      Fair enough ig

      0 likes

    • M

      MartynaK

      Beta Moderator

      last edited

       

      13/04/2026 07:17 AM

      @CoolMcCoolson,

      Thanks for raising this – it’s a valid question.

      The 10-minute limit for “Share with Everyone” is an intentional change, mainly related to privacy, security, and battery optimisation. It reduces prolonged visibility to nearby devices and helps avoid unintended sharing.

      If needed, the option can be re-enabled after it expires.

      0 likes